While many of us know about our legal right, how many Texans know about the shoplifting laws here? It’s one of the most common offenses, and yet not many know its laws – and it’s more serious than you might think. Even if you hire the best Houston criminal defense lawyer,
Marked as a felony most times, shoplifting is treated just like theft in Texas. It can be categorized as taking something from the store without paying for it, altering the price tag to avoid paying the full price, or writing bad checks that get you out of paying.
Theft & Texas Law
The higher the price of the property, the higher the fine. In some cases, you may also get jail time. The shoplifting offenses in Texas are classified as misdemeanors, and felonies. The laws for shoplifting in Texas are as listed below:
Class C misdemeanor
Theft of any goods or property valued under $50 is categorized as a class C misdemeanor. You’re changed with a fine of $500 for the same.
Class B misdemeanor
If the person has stolen something in the range of $50 to $500 or they have stolen something worth less than $50 but have a previous theft conviction against them, they’re penalized under the class B misdemeanor. This can get you a jail time of up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2000.
Class A misdemeanor
A theft of the property valued between $500 and $1500 is counted as a class A misdemeanor and can either get you jailed for up to a year and/or get you charged with a fine of about $4000.
State jail felony
Stealing any property worth more than $1500 and less than $20000 or the theft of a firearm is classified a state jail felony and can get you locked up for 180 days to 2 years. You may also get fined with up to $10000.
Third degree felony
A third degree felony is accounted for when a person steals something worth more than $20000 but less than $100,000. You may get a jail time up to 2-10 years and charged with a fine of $10,000.
Second degree felony
Stealing anything worth between $100000 and $200000 is considered a second degree felony and can get you jail time of 2-20 years and a fine of $10000.
First degree felony Theft of any property worth more than $20000 is a first degree felony and can get you jailed for 5-99 years along with a fine of $10000.
If you’re charged with shoplifting, don’t worry. A good criminal attorney in Texas can help you out.